Stairs

5 Dec

“Being with you is like climbing a staircase. But I told you I like a challenge and when faced with the choice, I’d take the stairs over the escalator.” – said to me last night.

Every new person I meet makes me realize how incredibly complex I really am. Hearing someone’s initial perception of me is literally one of the most fascinating things. It’s an analysis of the “me” I give off. Often times, I find those first impressions are more true to who I actually am, than the impressions of people who’ve known me for a while. Why is that?

A few months ago, I wrote about my friend, Daniel, who left his New York City dream to return home. I quoted Rainer Maria Rilke and recently, that particular quote was quoted back to me. It’s the circle, you guys.

And I now realize it’s the theme of this calendar year.

Hanging on my fridge

Currently listening to…

Song: Breakin’ the Chains of Love

Artist: Fitz and the Tantrums

Leave a comment